Facebook Share is when a user clicks the share button to share of piece of content on Facebook. Particularly, you can click the share button on Facebook or on someone’s website. However, by adding a special code to a web page, a user can place a Facebook share button on his/her web page.
Therefore, when you click the share button and you share a post, the content is then published to that user’s personal profile (Facebook refers to this as “wall”). Once it’s published there, that user’s friends will then be shown the shared content when they view that user’s profile page.
What audience can I choose a specific from when I share on Facebook?
The audience selector allows users to choose a specific audience when posting. The user’s options may include:
When users share something with public that means anyone including people off of Facebook can see it.
Friends (+ friends of anyone tagged):
This option allows users to post stuff to their friends on Facebook. However, if you tag anyone in a post, then the audience expands the post, it will also include the tagged user and their friends.
This option lets users post stuff to their timeline that is visible only to them. Posts with the audience of Only Me will appear in the user’s News Feed but not only their friend’s feeds. When users tag someone in their content and choose Only Me, the audience won’t expand to include the person they tagged.
Can people see Who I am sharing a Post with?
People who can see the user’s post can also see the audience the user chooses to share with:
- Friends Except
- Specific Friends
- Only Me
When the user uses the Custom audience option to share a post with a list or specific people, the people the user the post with may be able to see each other’s names. The user can also use the Friends Except and Specific Friends audience option to include or exclude specific friends from his/her post.
Note: If a user shares with one of his/her smart lists, the people on that list will be able to see the name of the list.
Re-sharing someone’s Post and Audience That can See it
Particularly, when a user clicks the Share button below a user’s post, they aren’t able to share the user’s photos, videos or status updates with Facebook. More so, this is with people who weren’t in the audience the user originally selected to share with.
However, only the people who could see those posts when the user first made them are able to see them when someone clicks Share. Use the audience selector to adjust who you share the post with.
Note: When a friend shares a link that you posted, they can then share the link with a wider audience than you originally shared it with. Please keep in mind that any text you added in your post will not be shared.
How to Change the Audience of a Post Shared on Your Timeline
You can use the audience selector to change who can see the things you share on your timeline after you share it. You should also keep in mind that when sharing something on someone else’s timeline, they control the audience for that very post. To change who a post is shared with.
- Go to your timeline and find the post you want to edit.
- Next to Privacy, then select the current audience of the post (example: Public, Friends, Only Me)
- Select the audience or list you want to share with.
How to Share someone’s Post on Your News Facebook News Feed
Therefore, this is depending on the privacy settings of the previous original post (Example: When a user chooses to share their post with Friends), the user may not see the option to share it.
In other to share a post you see on your News Feed to your timeline you need to follow these steps.
- Tap share below a post
- To choose who can see your post, tap the audience selector (Example: Friends) and select your audience.
- Enter an optional message.
Note: Basically, users can’t share posts with other users who weren’t part of the original audience (example: When a user shares a post with “Friends” it cannot be shared with “Public”).